CAII is a Secretariat-led association headed by a Secretary General and supported by Governing and Leadership councils and an Advisory Board. The Secretary General is nominated by Skoch Consultancy Services, which also serves as the permanent Secretariat of the Association. The Secretary General chairs the Governing Council. Currently the Secretary General of CAII is Sameer Kochhar.

Sameer Kochhar

Founder & Secretary General, CAII & Chairman, Skoch Group

Sameer Kochhar, a self-taught sociologist-economist and author of several books including best-seller ModiNomics: Inclusive Economics, Inclusive Governance, is Chairman of Skoch Group and Secretary General, CAII. He has been documenting the contemporary economic history of India since 1991 and has authored eleven books on the subject. His latest publication is Defeating Poverty: Jan Dhan and Beyond.

In 1997, after spending 15 years in the corporate world, he decided to follow his inner calling and become a development thinker. The Skoch Group – which has a think tank, media and consultancy arms – was established as part of his vision. He is a passionate advocate of social, financial and digital inclusion and has done the maximum documented field reports related to these areas creating possibly the world’s largest knowledge repositories. Read More

Governing Council:

Governing Council consists of entrepreneurs and business leaders drawn from various industries, including IT, Infrastructure and Banking & Finance. The Council supports the Secretariat in setting broad directional policy and meets periodically to monitor progress. Governing Council members have a tenure of two years and one-fourth of the members are replaced through a draw of lots every two years. Representation in the Governing Council is open only to Corporate Members on recommendation of the Secretariat. The Current Members of the Governing Council are:

S Ramadorai

Neelam Dhawan

Karan Bajwa

G. Srinivasan

Prakash B Rane

Parveen Bhatia

Leadership Council:

Leadership Council consists of CAII members or their nominees and practice heads. Head of National Missions are ex-officio member of the Council. It gives input to the Secretariat and the Governing council in policy and strategy formulation. The Secretariat nominates members in the Council and also decides on duration of their service.

Advisory Board:

Advisory Board consists of practitioners, domain experts, academia, members of civil society and senior functionaries from the Secretariat. The Board supports the Secretariat and the Governing Council with domain-based and felt-need-based inputs.

Merit Council:

Merit Council consists of all the recipients of Skoch Awards, including the Order-of-Merit. Skoch Awards are among the highest independently instituted civilian honours in India. The awardees include those who hold the highest government offices, corporate leaders and also the ordinary people who have done “extraordinary” work at the grassroots. They are among the best rated practitioners in the fields like governance, finance, banking, technology, corporate citizenship, economics, change management, empowerment, citizen services, financial inclusion, digital inclusion and inclusive growth. They add value to the Association through their expertise in their respective fields. All the awardees get automatic membership to Association and place in the Merit Council for a duration of one year from the date of joining.

General Body:

General Body comprises of all members of the Association.


Select academicians, research scholars, practitioners, thinkers and writers, etc.

Back to top button